Dearborn School Board Chooses 2013 Officers

Newly reelected trustees Mary Lane and Aimee Schoelles were sworn in this month.

The Dearborn Public Schools Board of Education announced its officers Monday at the regular school board meeting.

Officers were chosen at a brief organizational meeting.

Seventeen year veteran board member Pamela Adams was selected to be president. Hussein Berry was named vice president; Joe Guido, secretary; and James Schoolmaster will take on the role of treasurer. Board members serve in their officer position for one year, and new officers are chosen in January of each year.

Two recently reelected school board members—Trustees Mary Lane and Aimee Schoelles (formerly Aimee Blackburn)—were also sworn in at the meeting by newly elected 19th District Court Judge Sam Salamey.

Both Schoelles and Lane were successful in retaining their board seats in the November 2012 election.

With January being named School Board Appreciation Month, Superintendent Brian Whiston congratulated the group on their work.

“The Dearborn Board of Education trustees are an outstanding group of professionals dedicated to providing a quality education to all children in our classrooms and truly believe that all students can succeed,” Whiston said in a statement.

The Dearborn Board of Education develops policies for the district's 19,155 students, as well as more than 2,400 employees spread out amongst 34 buildings in the Dearborn Public Schools district. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $172 million. In addition, they oversee Henry Ford Community College. 


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »