.

What Do You Think About Right-to-Work Legislation?

Post your views on the proposed right-to-work legislation by adding it to the Local Voices section of Dearborn Patch.

Do you have an opinion on the proposed right-to-work legislation?

Then we would like you to let everyone know about it by sharing it on Dearborn Patch.

All you need to do is add your opinion—it could be as short as a sentence or as long as a term paper—to our Local Voices section.

It’s quick and easy to do. Just click here to post your opinion.

Whether you are for or against the right-to-work bills, we would love for you to share your voice with the Dearborn community.

Tom B December 07, 2012 at 06:23 PM
We should all have a "right-to-work" if qualified and not have a union dictate party favorites. I did not always agree with my unions political stance and did not contribute to their political action funds. Though I knew that union funds were being spent. But we need a group to bargain and maintain workers rights. No one should be forced to be in a union, but on the other hand we have to pay for those bargaining in contracts. Somewhat of a Catch 22. What do others think?
AC December 08, 2012 at 02:27 PM
This is retribution on the part of the GOP, across the nation. They want to punish the working class for voting Democrat. People lost sight of the fact that EVERY right, perk, benefit, protection that all employees in this country enjoy, had to be fought for. No concession is ever given.
bitsy08 December 08, 2012 at 03:10 PM
Hey, AC, one thing I've found is that when you think something, someone else has exactly the same thoughts. I agree with you about the GOP taking retribution wherever they can. And I voted for RTW but it was voted down. They say that there are laws in place that will protect the worker. Yah, Like our politicians are protecting us in voting the way we tell them to vote. When pigs fly! I also voted against the Financial Manager taking over cities which was another favorite of the Governor's. That was voted down but did you see what the Governor is doing now? He has another "version" of the Financial Manager law he's trying to put through. Nothing like running over our votes. Since when is what the party wants and the hell with what we say? The GOP doesn't listen to us. They do what their party dictates.
Harold Leese December 09, 2012 at 02:14 AM
How about privatizing SMART and DDOT? Gov. Snyder wants to bail out these unionized workers by raising our taxes, yet wants RTW? Is it really fair to pay bus drivers over $30 per hour whiile skilled workers are lucky to get $15 per hour? It is time to vote NO to defeat the SMART property tax next August 2014. This will cap the tax and force Gov. Snyder to restore state funds and to help stop his tax increases on the poorest of the poor in Michgan
Larry Vargo December 09, 2012 at 04:20 AM
I'm willing to wait and see what happens. But I have my doubts. Anyone who works for a living has precious little rights as it is so this probably won't matter much anyway. I'm sure this is to give businesses lower labour costs I'd really like to see them address why costs continue to go up. Th legislation, especially the Republicans, do not seem to care about the general populace as opposed to what is good for businesses. I don't know what possesses people to vote for them, and in a case like this it's hard to feel sorry. The Democrats aren't much better, having backed the NAFTA disaster. Many other countries, including those in NAFTA, have no hesitation about restricting their domestic markets, and we fail to protect our own. No wonder we have these problems. I'm beginning to wonder if they have a vested interest in the import/export industries (when something doesn't make sense, look for the financial angle).
Lynn Brewer December 09, 2012 at 08:18 PM
Here you go again...everything is GOP's fault....or, by name, Geo.Bush. Grow up. Get a mind of your own. Too many people have their heads in a very dark place and those are the ones who elect moochers/looters to steal from producers. And one day they will look in the mirror and ask: "How did this happen.?" If RTW is passed, people will still have the right to 'collective bargaining'. Unions are not what they were first established to be. Their demands are outrageous and have been for years. It's not a question of breaking the union. The question should be....Why does anyone, in this still free country, be forced to pay dues to a union whose views are not their own? Think!!!
laplateau December 10, 2012 at 05:10 AM
What's to question about RTW? Union members can continue their union membership, and those that don't feel the union represents their interests anymore no longer have to belong to keep their jobs. Who can question a persons right to either join a union or be independent of union controls. RTW will be an impetus for unions to be sure they represent the interests of all their membership and stop promoting and funding candidates and issues that are divisive. And, company management will also realize they will have to offer incentives to those who don't want to belong to a union as a way of maintaining their loyalty.
PC December 10, 2012 at 11:07 AM
For those that believe RTW literally means a "right to work," have you done your research? Have you noticed where many of the other 23 RTW states are clustered? Have you looked at the state of their schools, state economies, number (or %) of their populations who depend on Medicaid and other social safety nets? Right to work literally means more freedom for employers to shift their employee benefits onto MY shoulders (funded by MY tax dollars). People in Michigan right now have choices. If you don't like unions, work at WalMart. Oh, that's right, they pay minimum wage and a disproportionate number of their employees' benefits are provided by the state and federal government. Wake up, Michigan.
laplateau December 10, 2012 at 12:18 PM
PC....Pahleeeeze! Are you trying to tell me that UNIONS have created better schools with better results...better graduation rates? Who do you think pays the price for the benefits and wages? It is ALL passed on to the consumer in the form of higher prices and/or higher taxes to support those perquisites. Have you ever noticed that car prices rise every year, energy prices rise every year, A lot of those price increases are a result of higher wage and benefit costs. I can make the same argumant about union wages and benefits coming out of MY pocket. RTW only means having the right of choice to work with OR WITHOUT the necessity of joining a union. RTW to work only means NOT having government so deep in the union stronghold that it creates laws mandating that people join unions. It is ONLY a matter of a person's right to choose what they want. PC...please, if you are going to spout off about RTW meaning "meaning "more freedom for employers to shift their employee benefits onto MY shoulders...then tells us where you get those phantom "facts"! Oh, that's right, there aren't any facts like those....they just don't exist. It's just another union person using the talking points that are as hollow as most of the heads that spout them.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »